Pinterest and Podcasting

It’s always nice to see my last name spelled right, especially when it’s done by the AP. I was mentioned in a recent article about Pinterest, where I put in my shout out to libraries. You can read it at the Wall Street Journal, for one: “Interest spikes in Pinterest, notably from women.” Yes, you read that correctly. I got two sentences.

How did I get my freight train of a name mentioned? Twitter. The AP tech writer was asking on Twitter for Pinterest users to tell her their story. I’m not even sure who retweeted it in my feed, but when I saw it I sent her a quick message about libraries using Pinterest. That was an angle she hadn’t heard mentioned yet, it seemed. We set up a call about a week later and talked for twenty minutes or so.

My brief paragraph in the story mentions that Pinterest doesn’t require you to be friends with other users to see their pins. Add something to your board that others find appealing, and without even knowing who you are, they can re-pin and comment on the pictures you post. So without having cultivated a friends list on Facebook or a followers list on Twitter, you can reach the public eye. That’s pretty cool.

With “The Hunger Games” movie about to be released in theaters, that seems like a great opportunity for libraries to get people interested in the book (and the next book people might want to read after they’ve finished the series).

There’s also been a fair amount of concern about copyright issues with Pinterest. That’s actually one of the topics I’m covering in the March edition of SWONtech News. SWONtech News is a monthly, hour-long podcast that covers tech topics from the past month. I work hard to get past the press releases and share first-hand reports. So whether that’s Pinterest, the new iPad, or ebook publishers, I look for news that’s of interest to libraries. And if you’re a contributing member to SWON, this program is free. Register here.

Leave a Reply

